In the Service of National CERT’s (revisited)

April 2, 2019

Back in late 2014 we blogged about progress in our ongoing mission to increase the number of National CERTs/CSIRTs who were taking and hopefully using The Shadowserver Foundation’s free daily network remediation reports. We recently exceeded a long desired milestone of achieving coverage with more than 100 National CERTs/CSIRTs, so we thought we should post a quick update.

As of the end of Q1 2019, we now have 103 National CERTs/CSIRTs covering 124 countries (some National CERTs/CSIRTs have responsibilities for more than one country, due to territorial dependencies, and some National CERTs/CSIRTs such as CaribCERT have a regional remit).

The map below shows which countries currently take our data (show in green if at least one CERT/CSIRT with a national mandate takes the data or bright green if more than one does, and in red if no CERT/CSIRT with a national mandate takes the data or bright red if there is an entity with a partial national mandate, such as only for a specific sector rather than the entire country):

Shadowserver National CERT/CSIRT coverage April 2019

As you can see pretty clearly, we still have some way to go to achieve full national coverage in every country in Central and South America:

Shadowserver National CERT/CSIRT coverage April 2019 Central/South America

While our coverage in Africa and some of Asia still needs improvement:

Shadowserver National CERT/CSIRT coverage April 2019 Africa/Asia

The full list of countries or dependencies/overseas territories that we still need to find National CERT/CSIRT contacts to engage with and hopefully help them get set up and successfully using our free daily network remediation reports to help protect their constituents is:

Ascension Island, Andorra, Afghanistan, Albania, Netherlands Antilles, Angola, Antarctica, Argentina, American Samoa, Aland Islands, Bahrain, Burundi, Benin, Bermuda, Brunei, Bolivia, Bouvet Island, Botswana, Belize, Cocos Islands, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Central African Republic, Republic of the Congo, Cook Islands, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Christmas Island, Djibouti, Algeria, Western Sahara, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Fiji, Falkland Islands, Micronesia, Faroe Islands, Gabon, French Guiana, Guernsey, Gibraltar, Gambia, Guinea, Guadeloupe, Equatorial Guinea, South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands, Guam, Guinea-Bissau, Heard Island and McDonald Islands, Isle of Man, British Indian Ocean Territory, Iraq, Jersey, Kyrgyzstan, Cambodia, Kiribati, Comoros, North Korea, Kuwait, Laos, Lebanon, Liberia, Lesotho, Libya, Madagascar, Marshall Islands, Mali, Myanmar, Macao, Northern Mariana Islands, Martinique, Mauritania, Mauritius, Maldives, Malawi, Namibia, New Caledonia, Niger, Norfolk Island, Nicaragua, Nepal, Nauru, Niue, Peru, French Polynesia, Pakistan, Saint Pierre and Miquelon, Pitcairn, Palestinian Territory, Palau, Qatar, Reunion, Rwanda, Solomon Islands, Seychelles, Sudan, Saint Helena, Svalbard and Jan Mayen, Sierra Leone, San Marino, Senegal, Somalia, South Sudan, Sao Tome and Principe, Syria, Swaziland, Chad, French Southern Territories, Togo, Tajikistan, Tokelau, East Timor, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, United States Minor Outlying Islands, Uzbekistan, Vatican, Venezuela, Wallis and Futuna, Samoa, Yemen, Mayotte, South Africa, Zambia, Zimbabwe


If you are a National CERT/CSIRT and would like to receive the free daily network reports we send out please subscribe to our reports or get in touch. Or if you have National CERT/CSIRT contacts in any of the countries that we do not currently support, please introduce us and help us work together to better secure the Internet for everyone.

Recent Articles